Capital Saving and Raising at the Brink


AlphaTech Counsel hosted the Capital Saving and Raising event at the Brink Lounge on August 22, 2011 as part of the Forward Technology Festival 2011. Sponsors for the event were PrimeMetrix, Shoutlet, Cresa Partners, BDO, SupraNet, Flatt Cola, and murfie.com.

Capital Saving

During the first portion of the event, we broke into six groups to develop ideas for saving capital. Here is a summary of many of the ideas from the groups: http://tinyurl.com/3h853a7

Capital Raising

During the capital raising portion of the event, we covered a number of topics ranging from raising money angel investors, friends and family, and strategic partners and customers to working with government agencies and not profits. During the discussions, many of the speakers referenced or alluded to many resources, blogs, and information sharing events. Below is a summary of many of them:

Blogs:

Fred Wilson’s blog http://www.avc.com/a_vc/
Brad Feld’s blog http://www.feld.com/wp/
Chris Dixon’s blog http://cdixon.org/
Mark Suster's blog http://www.bothsidesofthetable.com/
Paul Graham's blog http://www.paulgraham.com/articles.html
Dave McClure’s blog (B2C) http://500hats.typepad.com/
Joel York’s blog (Chaotic Flow)(B2B) http://chaotic-flow.com/
AlphaTech Counsel’s blog http://alphatechcounsel.com/blog/

Groups:

Capital Entrepreneurs http://capitalentrepreneurs.com/
Illinois Technology Association http://www.illinoistech.org/
Tech Nexus http://www.technexus.com/
MidVentures (Chicago) http://midventures.com/

Articles/Books:

Venture Deals: Be Smarter Than Your Lawyer and Venture Capitalist http://tinyurl.com/3dds8cm
Friends and Family Financing Round http://wistechnology.com/articles/6318/, http://www.nathanlustig.com/2009/11/02/raising-money-from-family-and-friends/, and http://www.startupfunding101.com/seed-funding/friends-and-family-round-basics
Getting the Right Introductions: http://alphatechcounsel.com/blog/2009/differentiating-introductions/
Bridge Financing Documents http://alphatechcounsel.com/blog/2010/bridge-financing-documents/
Standard Angel Financing Transaction Documents http://wistechnology.com/articles/7301/
Due Diligence and Corporate Clean Up in Private Offerings http://alphatechcounsel.com/blog/2010/due-diligence-and-corporate-clean-up-in-private-offerings/
Capital-raising Term Sheets for Angels and Venture Capitalists http://wistechnology.com/articles/3845/
Securities Compliance is Part of Raising Capital http://wistechnology.com/articles/3495/
Using Placement Agents in Private Offerings http://alphatechcounsel.com/blog/2010/using-placement-agents-in-private-offerings/

Government/University/Nonprofit:

Wisconsin Angel Network http://www.wisconsinangelnetwork.com/
Small Business Development Center http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org/SBDC/Services.htm
Small Business Innovation Research programs http://www.wisconsinsbir.org/
Madison Development Corporation loans http://www.mdcorp.org/
Technology Venture Fund loans - Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation http://www.commerce.state.wi.us/bd/BD-Act255-technologyventurefundloans.html
Angel Investment Tax Credit Program - Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation http://www.commerce.state.wi.us/bd/BD-Act255-angelinvestors.html
Thrive funding opportunities search: http://www.thrivehere.org/business-tools/funding/
Federal grants: http://grants.gov/
SBA loan programs http://www.sba.gov/category/navigation-structure/loans-grants
UW-Madison Office of Corporate Relations http://ocr.wisc.edu/entrep/
Wisconsin Entrepreneurs Network http://www.wenportal.org/Services.htm

Incubators:

94Labs (Milwaukee-Madison) http://www.94labs.com/
Excelerate Labs (Chicago) http://www.exceleratelabs.com/

Other:

Venture Capital and Mergers and Acquisition Glossary  http://alphatechcounsel.com/venture_capital-merger-acquisition-glossary.html
National Venture Capital Association (NVCA) Model Legal Documents http://www.nvca.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=108&Itemid=136
American Bar Association's comments to the NVCA term sheet: http://alphatechcounsel.com/ABA-Comments-to-NVCA-Term-Sheet.html